Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

A number of people today are concerned with increasing global warming and the solution to our changing climate. While some claim that it is best to stop these changes, others however, believe we should co-exist with them. It seems to me that these changes are here to stay and so exploring different ways to cope with them is the best chance we have at possible survival.

On the one hand, preventing the ongoing climatic changes seems practically unrealistic for several reasons. First, is the inevitable transformation of the earth, seeing it has supported all life forms for several decades. Over the years, human activities ranging from space exploration, industrialisation to cutting edge technological advancements and deforestation has led to devastating climatic degradation and we have set in motion many changes still, some of which cannot be prevented. Even if these actions are stopped abruptly, global warming would perhaps continue to happen for at least several more decades if not centuries. Furthermore, the UN in a recent research has proposed that in order to stop these changes becoming irreversible, emission levels should be down by '2050'. This although true, appears rather unworkable as it would mean that important life supporting activities would be drastically reduced globally hence threatening human sustainability. Finally, is the sheer cost of this impractical aspiration. Currently, it appears to be the case that many important multinational companies are not yet green-oriented and unsuited to cope with the financial commitment of employing renewable energy sources.Therefore, money spent on research at preventing climate changes could of course be channelled to other sectors of the economy to curb other potentially global catastrophic risk like disease pandemics as this would be more economically beneficial.

Admittedly, preventing these climatic deteriorations may still be feasible. Nevertheless, this is surely by mitigating the flow of green house gases including other pollutants into the atmosphere and adapting with the changes already set in motion.

On the whole, it is undeniable that majority of these changes cannot be forestalled. Therefore, approaches targeted at a peaceful co-existence with them is surely needed and unless we dramatically alter our way of life, swaths of the planet will become hostile or uninhabitable. This appears to be overwhelmingly positive.