Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Over the last 20 years, the way people care for their older family members have changed. Subsequently, many homes now send their ageing members for care in old people's facility rather than personally caring for them. Creating more time for personal life seems to be the primary benefit of this, however, it has resulted in a feeling of neglect and its consequent effects on elders.

Chief among the benefits of this growing trend is the area of personal obligations. This has led to more time for work and also managing immediate family and household. Consequently, this has resulted in reduced stress and improved family relationships. Furthermore, it is the case that many adults are engrossed with making money and barely have time to care for their elders. Children also are busy with school and so these seniors are left to watch TV all day. A care facility thus, promises a better quality life for them from activities ranging from meeting pals their age, forming new relationships to purposeful interactions and engaging in healthy activities together.

On the other hand, research has shown that more than 60% of all old people in care homes develop feelings of neglect and consequent depression that often leads to more severe health conditions. This was seen in a recent UK survey which showed that about 40% of elderly people in care homes end up demented. Because of this, concerns about the quality of care these seniors receive has arisen since care givers may not be sufficiently able to cater for the unique need of all persons present. One further drawback of a nursing home is in the area of cost as expenses involved tends to be prohibitive. Services cost money and many families are infact unable to meet demands for care.

In conclusion, these nursing services have provided many homes with family time and privacy, it has also spiced up the boring routine lives of our senior family members. However, many old people are content in staying at home with their family and they feel abandoned by their loved ones when left to the care of a facility.