Nowadays, Artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars.

Why is this happening?

Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, autonomous cars have become increasingly common. This is because Artificial Intelligence has reached a point in its technological advancement were it can safely control a vehicle. And this should definitely be viewed positively due to reduction in traffic accidents and congestion.

To begin with, cutting-edge technological development has made it possible for AI to successfully manoeuvre a car for varied reasons. First, using AI in cars allow them to be driven with more accuracy and precision. This is because they now possess unique software systems and sensors like cameras and GPS devices that help them handle complex situations. For instance, most AI machines are trained extensively in virtual simulations to help prepare a vehicle for nearly every event on the road. Furthermore, some can anticipate collisions even before they happen and as a result eliminate the proportion of catastrophic events on roads occurring from unforeseen human errors. One final point is the fact that AI now enable these vehicles to see, hear, think and make decisions like human drivers will do.

This should certainly be accepted because of enhanced protection of life and reduction in time spent commuting between places, and of course, a decline in traffic congestion. Artificially intelligent automobiles can now travel between destinations without a human operator, and so employing them in transportation would potentially reduce manmade errors while on transit. For example, the new Tesla cars produced by Google was shown to have a very high accuracy with no abnormalities recorded during its testing in 2018. Additionally, with AI completely excluding human interference, these vehicles would be able to navigate traffic easily while ensuring human safety. Thus, making them truly indispensable to long distance driving.

In conclusion, driving cars using computers is happening because modern innovations in science and technology has made it possible for AI to mimic human cognition, obviously performing what humans do with better sensitivity and specificity. This, no doubt should be welcome because it would ensure our roads are secure for lives.