Artificial intelligence will soon replace teachers in the classroom.

Do you agree with this statement?

What is an alternative to traditional face-to-face teaching?

Technology is now increasingly prevalent in the world today so given time, it is thought that computer learning will take over the place of traditional learning in the classroom. This essay will state that despite advancing trends in Artificial intelligence, the teacher would perhaps continue to play an integral role in children's education. However, students can effectively use online courses via the internet should they choose not to attend classes.

Firstly, a teacher powered by AI would be less able to cater for students' individual needs such as providing feedback, constructive criticism and evaluation. Typically, children are known to have different personalities and learn at different pace sometimes requiring 'sticks' or 'carrots' or other forms of motivation to help them learn. Such is a quality only a human teacher possess as they have authority over the students. Also, students need the watchful eye of a teacher to make sure they are indeed understanding their lessons and not fooling around while learning. This is something a robotic teacher certainly cannot provide. For example, English study application is used to access vocabulary errors but is unable to sufficiently teach it users as it cannot offer such soft skills as explaining one's error or pointing out areas of weakness to learners.

Admittedly, the rising advances in AI has now made it possible for it to mimic the mental and physical abilities of a human being. For instance, the Da-Vinci robots available today is able to move and manipulate objects with human like precision. Nevertheless, these innovations have not yet reached a point where they can educate conpetently due to lacking pedagogical skills.

Alternatively, online courses via the internet can now be used, and this has provided access to unlimited materials and course-books that supplement and add to knowledge which children are assimilating from just listening to their teachers. Even so, it is the role of teachers to ensure that this remain a guided learning process and not just data gathering from internet sources that may be unreliable and misleading especially among younger children who may not be able to discriminate between sources and sift information properly. Furthermore, these courses are indispensable in long distance learning so that students now learn from expert teachers over the world. Many reputable institutions like Harvard, now offer convenient online education series to international students.

Overall, it appears that human teachers are set to remain an important part of Learning. Despite this the possibility of a robotic teacher in the future is a plausible arguement. Although, online courses are available to the student, it should be used carefully and under supervision of a competent educator.