Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”.

How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

With the implementation of technology, the world is developing faster with a variety of technological advances that have made our lives easier. Over the past three decades, the possession of cars has unutterably witnessed a significant rise which has consequently led to traffic congestion on roads. I firmly think that this statement is very true. The government should take necessary solutions to discourage people from using their cars.

Over the years, the rate of car ownership has accelerated significantly, if not controlled, it is likely to rise further. To begin with, governments all over the world have made an effort to resolve this problem by widening existing roads; however, they have not been able to control the pace of increasing owner cars. Consequently, traffic accidents have been escalating to such a level in metropolitans. Facts have shown that a great number of those who are injured from road collisions and have the arguments in traffic congestion are increasing annually. Therefore, not only does it have an impact on business activities but it also affects the physical and mental well-being of residents. The economy may incur a loss because of the delay in moving their commodities and manpower. Additionally, urban citizens have also suffered from noise and air pollution caused by traffic jams.

There are various measures that governments can determine to contain the issue of rising in the number of cars on roads. Firstly, car agencies are allowed to increase the financial burden of owning a car by imposing taxes on private vehicles by the governments. Moreover, it is the governments’ responsibility to take preventive solutions and encourage people to use public transports to preserve the environment. By organizing several campaigns, the governments might bring about a shift by launching car automation, which considerably decreases traffic congestion and pollution.

In conclusion, although almost all cities are struggling with the high level of traffic congestion, authorities can alleviate this situation by imposing gas taxes on private vehicles and ameliorating public transports manufacture.