Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’

How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over 3 decades, the number of people who possess cars has grown seriously, which leads to the greatest term: ‘congestion’. Hence, governments must take actions to bring in enormous emergency measures to control this menace.

To begin with, as car ownership rises, people gradually become more dependent on those private vehicles due to the freedom while traveling, which means this demand only continues to increase, not the reverse situation. As a result, it is obvious to witness the large amount of cars, which all cause the traffic to be congested all the time.

The most effective approach that governments can consider is encouraging private enterprise to install underground rail tracks for electronic trains. people have no motivation to utilize public transportations because of the incoherent schedules and the lack of transports. Therefore, investing in those areas may stimulate pedestrians to avoid using their own vehicles. Notwithstanding, putting a higher tax on parking, in Japan, for instance. A car can cost 1 million yen, however, parking can value to 1,600 yen a day, which means the money you pay for a year is a half of car price, not including petrol fee. Since then, the Japanese have transferred to walking or using buses, trams,...

To sum up, I perfectly believe that congestion exists due to tremendous privately owned cars on the streets. Nevertheless, national and local authorities are able to do a lot to minimize the use of cars to tackle this trendy problem.