Nowadays, most children regularly play games on a computer or on their television. These games have become more violent over the past few years. In fact, many parents worry about this and the effect these games are having on their children. Some are concerned that playing violent games might encourage them to become more aggressive in real life. What we need to establish is whether or not this is true.

First, it might help to look back at the games that children used to play many years ago before the invention of computers. In those days, children would probably have played games such as Monopoly or chess, or may have played card games or some type of outdoor sport. These sports or games would probably only have encouraged children to become more competitive rather than violent.

However, through history children have always played fighting games with a toy or pretend weapons. Even now, many parents will buy a toy gun or sword for their child. Why do we never read reports in the media about the impact plastic weapons could have on children? Perhaps because the link between play fighting and actual fighting is not very strong.

In conclusion, the way children play games has changed with the times but the ideas behind those games have actually changed very little. Just as playing at soldiers did not increase violence in the past, I believe that playing computer games will not lead to an increase in violence in future. I think that if we look more closely at life in our major cities then we would find there are many other possible causes for the increase in crime and violence.