In class, you have been discussing the statement ‘Old people should be looked after by members of their family or it is better for them to live in nursing-home’. Your teacher has asked you to write an essay expressing your own opinion. Write your essay in 250-300 words.

These days, it is more common to witness the conspicuous high tendency of the elderly people, moving to the nursing house to dwell for the rest of their life. Some people advocate this phenomenon, others, are opposed to, stand a position that their descendants must take charge of their parents as an indication of gratitude and moral. I totally subscribe to the later view due to these two following evidences.

Firstly, there is no point in denying that when one becomes older, they would more likely acquire the affectionate and respectful care of their children by virtue of being more vulnerable and emotional in terms of physical and psychological health. The nursing house, although constitutes the excellent place to live, supplying the elders the creature comfort accompanied with the-state-to-date appliances and dedicated nurses, sometimes could not cater for them the family’s intimacy or worse, impinge excessively upon the old people, exerting them to fall in the ingrained and irreversible feeling of isolation and dereliction because they fell being betrayed by their beloved when being sent there. Moreover, when living in the brand-new environment, it would open up the possibility of the elderly people, encountering some adversities in terms of making acquaintances, being lack of intimate care and so forth. Furthermore, due to the weak body resistance, most of them are predominantly susceptible with some common diseases such as high blood pressure, diabetes, influenza or even depressive disorder, which from time to time are mainly in need of family’s care to recuperate rather than just simple nursery assistance.

Secondly, it should be born in mind that the elderly care is also correlation with the youngster’s ethics in society. The young people were undoubtedly instructed at school to usually hold the gratitude to their predecessors for what they have done for the following generations, and parents are those who had to confront with an inordinate number of hardship and tolerance when having brought them up. Not only do they must realise their parents' sacrifice but they also have a mandatory responsibility to compensate those by taking care of their parents when they get older. It is unarguable that after the long-lasting and hazardous life, the parents deserved the right to live with their children, seeing their grandchildren growing up as the consolation of old age. However, the parents certainly do not enforce their children to care for them but if they were abandoned desperately straight away by their children, the effect of this would possibly cause an embedded hurt in their heart, some even considered suicide as an escape. Ultimately, the action of sending parents to aged home deliberately or accidentally prevail and remould the awareness of the future’s generation about remembrance of the ancestor and lead them to forget the moral value of the society.

From what has been discussed above, we draw the conclusion that although the nursery house is applied with modern furniture to satisfy the material need of the old people, it is incapable of taking place one family’s house and giving them the genuine love and care. The young people must perceive their obligation and happily do it as the denotation of their gratitude for their parents' contribution to their life.