When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Building always constitute the integral factor of a country’s construction. There is the heated debate over the issue whether the purpose of the building should be placed above its aesthetic value. I strongly believe that these factors are not conflicting and mutually beneficial.

There is no point in denying that the expenditure on the external charming of the building are no longer considered as the luxurious and insignificant work but incorporated as a core function of the city, especially in terms of economic marketability. No longer limited to such ordinary functions such as safety, durability, access to modern facilities, the requirements of the customer are comprehend and involved decorative details, visual qualities, including the ornamentation and furnishings. When choosing a destination, travellers predominantly have the tendency towards paying the primary attention on the aesthetic exterior of the building rather than consider its traditional and basic function. Apprehending their mindset, the business embark on focusing money on the high maintenance and outer design of their city’s building, as a facilitator, assisting the city to attracting tourist to flock to. As the result, it is compensated proportionally compared to their immense expenditure of money and endeavour, they are provided as large source of tourism income, making the contribution to the financial term and raising the eminence and prevalence of the city to the whole world. Moreover, with regard to the spiritual commodity, indicating the entire hidden beauty of the culture and religion which it is erected in is the worth mentioning value of the external appeal. Because of the divergence in architecture of the building in particular place, not only does it consolidate the surrounding landscape but each of them are also deemed to reflect on different begone story, helping people to understand the identity of the culture’s aspect and have a specific perspective about that. Besides, so effortless is it to distinguish one building to another due to these aboved factors, traveller would be engraved in mind deeply about the basic and crucial beauty of which.

However, on the other hand, it can be argued that no matter how crucial the artistic appearance is, people should take into account the real function such as drainage, lighting, heating systems as well as the arrangement of rooms and corridors which determine their building’s basic quality service. If a construction was incapable of meeting the needs of their owners, patrons and consumers or even compromise the quality, those outward appearances would be considered worthless and ignored. For instance, in India an architectural firm gained reputation for its one-of-a-kind designs and a few years later the designs were opined as unsafe construction when a large amount of the buildings collapsed just during a minor earthquake and caused a numerous casualty. In the light of this sample, giving the high consideration of the artistic exterior above its basic functionality not only jeopardized the lives of the residents but also inflicting the gigantic loss in terms of finance which had a profound impact on the development of one country.

From what has been discussed above, we draw the conclusion that the outward appearance is in no uncertain terms imperative to the image and cultural value of one country, even though, it should not be overstated nor sacrificed at the expense of real functionality. Both of them should be a slight mingling, contributing to the dominance of one city or country.