Companies should provide sports and social facilities for local communities.

To what extent do you agree?

One issue generating much argument is who should provide social and sports facilities for the community. While a number of individuals argue that this is the job of corporate organizations, I contend that it is not their responsibility, rather, this is mainly the task of the government. However, corporate entities can contribute their own quota as they wish.

It behoves the government to construct playgrounds and football practice pitches for the citizenry. This constitutes what an elected authority owes those it is supposed to serve and this is what the citizens deserve. In other words, it is part of the government's social contract with the people. For instance, there are usually ministries under the government for social and sports development, they usually cater to these needs. Moreover, these ministries have a budget every year, hence, money should have been provided.

On the other hand, conglomerates can choose to give back to their communities. Where a business entity feels that it has benefited from the community it is located, it can offer charity to the people. This can be by sponsoring the provision of sports arenas for use by the locals, or by upgrading existing facilities. For example, Shell has helped to build training grounds in some Nigerian communities, where young footballing talents are groomed, who will tomorrow become superstars. To put it another way, an organization can decide to donate a mini stadium as part of its corporate social responsibility.

In conclusion, although people say companies should be the ones to provide sports complexes for the inhabitants of their community, I opine that it is a duty meant for the government. Nonetheless, business entities can choose to augment the effort of the government in this regard.