Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

As a way of making potential customers purchase their products, businesses utilize advertising. But some people consider of lot of these methods as not ethical, and therefore, not acceptable. I concur that many of the techniques applied are reprehensible because they promote immorality and violence.

One of the negative effects of some concepts employed by companies in marketing their wares to buyers encourages immorality. Just to get the attention of clients, morally depraving gimmicks are used, and they are done without thinking about the repercussions. For instance, recently on television, viewers in Nigeria were assailed by an advertisement on a brand of brandy, which a couple on a date at a restaurant drank. But apart from television watchers seeing the couple sip the alcohol, they also saw them kiss on air. Such a video should be censored by the Nigerian Broadcasting Commission because it encourages indecent attitudes.

Another negative inherent in these reproachable tactics used by advertisers is that some of them promote violence. An advertisement may want to target the youth or young men, and the message might be to showcase vigour and virility. In other to achieve this, video clips that have people fighting may be shown. For example, there was another commercial on television which marketed a brand of energy drink. The video had two men exchanging punches. As it turned out, one knocked down the other and the winner jumped up in celebration. In other words, viewers were made to think it was the energy booster that invigorated the victor.

In conclusion, I disagree with many of the unscrupulous strategies used by advertising companies to persuade their targeted market because their campaigns often encourage indecency and violent behaviors. A more thoughtful-approach will go a long way in improving advertisements and help to sanitize the society.