Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As it is known about the British and Australian laws, jurors who adjudicate criminal cases do not have privileged information on an accused person's past criminal records. On account of this, some lawyers argue for a change in the procedure. However, I do not concur that the law should be amended because this can bias the jury and affect the credibility of the judicial system.

Letting a jury have facts about a crime suspect's past offences can make it have a jaundiced look against the accused. Jurors consist of human beings, therefore, they could be influenced by past transgressions that an offender may have committed. For instance, if a jury perceives an offender as having violated the law severally in retrospect, such a defendant is unlikely to get a reprieve from the jury because it can view him as a recidivist.

Another reason against this proposition is the need to preserve the sanctity of the judicial system. As said before, jurists who already have a bad impression about an accused are unlikely to deliver a fair judgment and this can make pronouncements from say a High Court to be adjudged unjust. For example, justice is depicted as a blind lady who is not influenced by sentiments. However, a jury that is compromised by the negative facts it already knows about an alleged criminal will not likely temper justice with mercy. So, whatever ruling that emanates from the court may not be trusted. As a consequence, faith can be lost in the court system.

In conclusion, though a number of lawyers feel that the law should be amended to permit a jury to get prior details about a suspect, I object to it because the court ruling may turn out to be wrong. Furthermore, it can undermine the judicial system.