Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

.According to the British and Australian laws, jurors who adjudicate criminal cases do not have privileged information on an accused person's past criminal records. But some legal practitioners are now arguing for a change in the procedure. However, I do not concur that the law should be amended because this can bias the judges and affect the credibility of the judicial system.

A jury with fore knowledge of a suspect's criminal record can be biased in its judgment. Jurors consist of human beings, therefore, they could be influenced by past transgressions that an offender may have committed. For example, there was a newspaper report in the United States about a jury that did not waste time in sentencing a burglar to 10 years in prison because he was seen as a recidivist. That is to say, a jury that is jaundiced against a defendant because of his or her past crimes is likely to temper justice with mercy.

Another reason against this proposition is the need to preserve the sanctity of the judicial system. As said before, judges who already have a bad impression about an accused are unlikely to deliver a fair judgment and this can make pronouncements from say a High Court to be adjudged unjust. For instance, justice is depicted as a blind lady who is not influenced by sentiments. However, a jury that is compromised by the negative facts it already knows about an alleged criminal will no longer be blind. In other words, rulings that emanate from the court may not be trusted. As a consequence, faith can be lost in the court system.

In conclusion, though a number of attorneys feel that the law should be amended to permit a jury to get prior details about a suspect, I object to it because the court ruling may turn out to be wrong, and an innocent person may suffer for it. The tragic consequence is an undermined judicial system.