Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines or billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they do not really need. What are the positive and negative of consumerism?

There are plenty of ways to advertise the items such as online or through magazines, signs on road. It may attract people to pay for something that are actually not on demand. In my opinion, this issue have both pros and cons.

There are several advantages to advertising in several ways. Firstly, advertisements inform people about the choices they have. One can have a broad view about the products and consider the best of all kinds. For example, people can choose the products following their favorite color or fair price through a huge source of advertisements. Secondly, advertising is a creative industry that employs many people. Many companies employ those who can model for the product or sell the items for them. Without advertising there would be higher unemployment.

However, there are the downsides as well. One major drawback is that people would be attracted by some expensive stuffs that is not worthy buying. They can be influenced by the adverts and paid a large amount of money for the items are not required. Another negative effect is that children can put pressure on parents to buy them things on advert. Some advertisement often aim their marketing at children which the desire in them. An additional factor is that people can also be persuaded to follow the latest trends. They use glamorous, successful people and create a trend in social network.

In sum, advertisements have both advantages and disadvantages. One should weigh the benefits against the drawbacks before making a decision.