A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your locality.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community.

Do you support or oppose the factory establishment?

The given topic requires critical analysis of the benefits and shortcomings due to the establishment of a new company in my neighbourhood. Although, the start of a new factory is likely to create opportunities for employment, however, the pollution and the adverse effect as a result of the establishment need to be critically analyzed before deciding whether I am in support or against the factory establishment.

On one hand, a new factory which is considerably big in size and belonging to a multi-national company is likely to invest a lot of money, both during the construction stage and during the production stage. In addition to this, since the company is likely to need a large group of skilled and unskilled labours, the local unemployment problem might be solved. However, without sufficient information about whether the company is likely to hire locals and how well they are going to pay to the workers, the good or bad effect of this employment scheme is debatable. But considering the prospect of new suppliers, distributors and logistics companies that might be set up locally to meet the demands of the company, I think that this will increase the income of the people in the community significantly and hence improve their standards of living.

On the other hand, since the factory is likely to produce a lot of pollutants and waste materials, most of which, if not treated, is likely to harm the environment of the local community and hence this will leave a negative impact on the society. However, if there are proper rules and regulations in place, and these rules are strictly adhered to by the executives in the company, then the problems associated might be negligible.

Overall, there seems to be a combination of positive and negative sides resulting from the establishment of the factory. If the risks associated with the factory are mitigated through contingency plans, and if people get employment or new business opportunities might open up due to the company, then I am definitely in favour of this establishment in my locality.