Competitiveness is considered to be a positive quality among people. How does competitiveness affect individuals?

Is competitiveness a positive or negative quality?

These days, it is noticeable that competitiveness is considered as a positive value among people. There could be a lot of reasons for this attitude, and I think competitiveness is a positive trait because it provides motivation in a society.

Generally, people like to be the best in any situation and reach the highest rank. They want to be terrific at their work, studies, family and society, and they do their best to achieve these goals. The first effect of competitiveness is that everyone in a normal society try to be first-rate. Beside perfectionism, the second effect that could be mentioned is ambition. Competitiveness compels people to be ambitious with many goals and desires which can cause a lot of invention and innovation.

In sociology and psychology, competitiveness is condemned by many. Although it has both positive and negative aspects, I believe the weight of positive points is heavier than the negative points. I think without competitiveness, people would become idle and their motivation and enthusiasm will diminish little by little, which could be harmful for people and their modern society. Competitiveness is a positive quality because it can cause a lot of developments like in education, training, businesses, etc. Countries with high competitiveness scores are more successful in achieving economic growth than others with low scores.

In conclusion, I personally think that as a result of competitiveness, the world is getting better for living, and it makes people happy. In the future, as a result of competitiveness we will have a higher level of health, education, technology, economy and infrastructure.