Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is a big controversy surrounding competitiveness in most societies. Although there are some demerits of competitiveness, I would argue there are far more merits and in this essay I will support my idea with examples.

The main downsides of the trend towards competitiveness brings people a lot of pressure. This means individuals are usually depressed by their work, which they need to promote every day. Moreover, various people cut down their period of sleep to exceed their colleagues. It leads to an ever-increasing number of people who have some psychological diseases in their mind. Taking Holland as an example, there are more and more people who are in a heavy depression in their mind because they are put a lot of pressure on their shoulders.

Despite some negatives I mentioned above, I believe that competitiveness is a positive development for various reasons. Firstly, competitiveness levels up the society day by day. Because without competitiveness, there are not numerous inventions which were released in the past. For example, Apple always updates their advances yearly because they have to keep their customer source. Secondly, competitiveness, in the Internet era, is necessary to let people enhance their knowledge. Most people do not want to leave behind so they need to catch up with any news to compete with other people. Applying news into their mind not only exceeds any people surrounding them but also helps them improve themselves.

In conclusion, while there are a plethora of detrimental effects on this issue, I strongly support that if people live in the world without competitiveness, people can not develop as nowadays.