Computers and modems have made it possible for office workers to do much of their work from home instead of working in offices every day. Working from home should be encouraged, as it is good for workers and employers. What’s your opinion and discuss the advantages and disadvantages?

Thanks to technological advances such as computers and modems, nowadays people are able to work from home instead of traveling to a workplace on a daily basis. While some believe that this trend should be encouraged since it brings about several advantages for both workers and employers, I would argue that its disadvantages are much greater.

To begin with, teleworking is beneficial to workers and employers to a certain extent. Firstly, employees do not have to travel a long distance to work each day, which helps to reduce the number of vehicles being driven on the roads. This is likely to alleviate severe traffic congestion. If people are required to commute to work daily, they might easily get frustrated as a result of being stuck in constant traffic jams during rush hour. Secondly, employers need not spend a huge amount of money on utilities or office equipment such as computers and telephones, which can partially relieve the financial burden on these individuals. If employees keep working in offices, especially in major cities, their employers will be preoccupied with overhead expenses of office space as well as additional costs of supplies.

However, I still believe that these benefits are vastly outweighed by the following drawbacks. First, due to a lack of social interaction with co-workers, those working from home might feel a sense of isolation and loneliness. This may contribute directly to a rise in depression and other psychiatric disorders among these people in the long run. Additionally, because of many unwanted distractions and interruptions, telecommuters might find it hard to stay focused when working from home. For example, some remote workers may have to soothe their crying toddlers while simultaneously holding a business meeting via their mobile phones. Furthermore, teleworkers are likely to face technical problems such as low-quality video calls or unreliable internet connections. As a result, these people might suffer from low morale, which hinders a company from achieving its business goals.

In conclusion, although people can derive some benefits from telecommuting, I suppose that this trend leads to more drawbacks.