The unlimited use of cars may cause many problems. What are those problems? In order to reduce the problems, should we discourage people to use cars?

It is an inescapable fact that automobile ownership has become commonplace in recent times. However, the frequent use of cars is likely to result in several major problems. Some people assert that everyone should be dissuaded from driving cars so as to minimize these problems. Personally, I do not agree with this viewpoint for some reasons.

To begin with, the unlimited use of automobiles might cause serious problems to the environment and human health. Firstly, increasing car use can lead to a corresponding rise in the amount of exhaust fumes released into the atmosphere. Consequently, air pollution would occur and cause a variety of disastrous environmental impacts such as ozone depletion or acid rain. Secondly, air pollutants from automobiles such as carbon dioxide can have undesirable effects on people’s health. In fact, people living in big cities where a large number of cars are driven on the roads every day run a higher risk of asthma and other respiratory diseases than those in rural areas.

In my opinion, discouraging everyone from using cars to travel between places is not a workable solution to all the aforementioned problems. It is argued by some that when the government implements a policy that limits car use, fewer individuals would opt for that mode of transport, and the issues relating to the environment or human health can be dealt with. However, this argument seems to overlook the fact that people will quickly look for alternatives to automobiles such as motorcycles, which also contributes greatly to an increase in vehicle exhaust emissions. This means that all the problems mentioned above will remain unsolved. From my point of view, a better solution would be to encourage car manufacturers to shift their focus towards eco-friendly vehicles such as electric cars. Since these vehicles are powered by electricity, they emit less greenhouse gases as well as other air pollutants. Therefore, people need not worry about environmental pollution or health-related problems anymore.

In conclusion, the excessive use of cars can lead to a host of problems to the environment as well as people’s health, and I believe that dissuading individuals from using their cars is not an effective approach to tackling all these issues.