In many countries, more and more young people are leaving school but unable to find jobs. What problems do you think youth unemployment causes for individuals and the society? What measures should be taken to reduce the level of unemployment among youngsters?

In several parts of the world, an increasing number of young individuals are finding it hard to get a job after graduation. In my opinion, youth unemployment is likely to result in several major problems from societal and individual perspectives, and effective solutions should be proposed promptly to tackle this issue.

To begin with, unemployment among youths might pose serious problems for both individuals and society. Firstly, joblessness tends to leave young people with a deep sense of self-loathing, which might contribute greatly to an increase in stress levels and other psychiatric disorders among these individuals. For example, being out of work for such a long time can make a person feel inferior to those who have a stable and well-paid job, as a result of which he or she is likely to suffer from severe depression. Secondly, an increase in the number of jobless youngsters can lead to a corresponding rise in the figure for those claiming unemployment benefit. This can place a huge financial burden on the government as they need to allocate an enormous amount of money to this sector, while simultaneously having to slash national expenditure on more important public services such as education and transport systems.

Several actions need to be taken to reduce the youth unemployment rate. Firstly, it is necessary for the government to implement policies that encourage entrepreneurship among the youth. This can be done by reallocating taxpayers’ money in support of young startups. As a result, young entrepreneurs might feel highly motivated to create and scale their own businesses, which helps to reduce the youth unemployment in the long run. The second solution would be for teachers to help students define and develop a clear career pathway during their school years. This might not only make these young individuals aware of the vast employment opportunities out there but also assist them in making better career choices. The final solution would be to create job search websites which can match job seekers with employers. Therefore, young people will find it easier to get a job which is tailor-made for them.

In conclusion, youth unemployment might lead to a host of problems for individuals and society as well, and practical solutions should be produced early to address this issue.