Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

Advertisement has become a useful tool for companies to promote their products and to get the consumers’ attention nowadays. With the growth of commercial industry, advertisements are now being overused by competing corporations, which causes some issues that bother the majority of consumers. However, there are several solutions to address these problems.

To begin with, the increasing numbers of advertisements are making a big influence on the consumers. The problem to mention is that a huge amount of commercials on TV or the internet is annoying people when they are watching contents. At some point, these adverts can be very invasive and thus, they can be considered as harassment by the companies. For example, in a 45-minute TV show in Vietnam, there are more than five advertisements every ten minutes, which is super annoying for the viewers. The next problem to address is the content of the adverts. Since there are too many commercials, parents cannot control what type of advertisements their children watch. Thus, the contents that kids view on TV or the internet can be inappropriate or unsuitable. As a consequence, such bad commercials may influence kids to develop bad behaviours.

However, there are a few effective ways to solve the aforementioned issues. Firstly, governments can enact laws that restrict the TV or internet providers from showing too many adverts. For instance, since the establishment of TV commercials in Vietnam, the amount of advertisements has been greatly reduced. Secondly, the content of every advert should be strictly filtered by appropriate policies from the media providers. By doing this, parents will no longer be afraid of footages that their children view.

In conclusion, the increasing numbers of advertisements have created some problems for the consumers. However, these issues can be tackled by the involvement of the governments and the change in policies of the media providers.