Countries should try to produce all the food for the population and imports as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary society, food shortage has become a tremendous problem in many nations. In addition, authorities should try to produce more provisions for their residents and imported food should be restricted. In my point of view, i totally disapprove with this statement as it is impossible to donate sufficient provisions for all people, and imported food contribute largely to well-rounded meals.

On the other hand, some nations fail to provide enough food for the whole population, especially underdeveloped countries undergoing financial burden. For example, Zimbabwe, a nation which is recently plagued by poverty and substandard life quality, find it difficult to alleviate famine. Hence, obliging them to donate enough foodstuffs for all residents seems to be a demanding task.

Moreover, import is also an important process, especially in this globalized society. One of the main advantageous impact is that humans can enjoy a diversity of ingredients which are non-existent in their own nations. For instance, it is Vietnam that residents start to consume French cuisines such as pizza, sausages on a daily basis. Consequently, it will be a huge loss if government prohibits import products and people depend solely on local ingredients. Secondly, such an enhancement in food quality is also worth-mentioning. In these recent days, thanks to the expansion of imported nutrients, many international organizations improve their strategies and ingredients’ quality to compete with other companies. That means each individual can enjoy more high-quality dishes than in the ancient period.

Taking everything into consideration, since imported food can bring significant benefits and food provided for every resident seems to be insufficient in some impoverished countries, I totally disagree with the initial statement.