creative artists should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas.

It is been suggested that a total freedom, without any government intervention, should be given to creative artists. While I believe in the power of freedom in art creation, I believe a certain level of restrictions should be imposed as well.

The most obvious advantage to allowing freedom to artists would be closely linked to art creativity. When painters, singers or directors are given the freedom to express their ideas freely, they would not worry about being judged or restricted in any aspects, and higher chances are that they would be able to think outside the box and create innovative pieces of art. Also, artists would be more courageous to challenge the status quo and break the tradition when they have free thinking, leading to breakthroughs in the art field. However, such creative thinking and novel works of art would be missed out upon if artists are confined to a wide range of restrictions.

However, an absolute freedom would also have drawbacks and give rise to negative impacts on the public as well as the society. For example, some directors or painters, in order to draw more attention, may involve a huge amount of violence and crimes. If governments do not impose any censorship, some citizens may imitate these violent behaviors, consequently increasing more incidents of crimes in real life. The examples can also be found in music. It is not rare to find children, especially teenagers, considering swearing or bad languages as something cool, if they are inundated with popular songs including these languages. Some songs may also stimulate anti-social emotions in their listeners. So pictures, music or films, as forms of medium, should be given some control for the sake of their potential audiences and the cohesion of the society.

To conclude, even though I believe freedom is vital for creativity generation in the art world, some restrictions are pivotal to ensure the safety and cohesion of the society.