Creative artists should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music or film) in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Governments imposing limitations on the creativity and idea expression of those involved in art is open to debate. From my perspective, artists should have maximum freedom to interpret themselves in their artworks if their ideas do not violate laws, social norms and ethical standards.

Among the supporting reasons for letting artists freely express their thoughts is that freedom is the essence of art. Feeling free, especially emotionally, is a prerequisite condition for artistic creation. Without freedom, there would be no poetry, music, film or painting, and there would also be no inspiration to create works. For instance, we cannot force a writer to write a touching literary work about poverty if he has never experienced or witnessed such a dire circumstance. He needs to gather his own experiences to grieve for such tragic fates; the tears he cries in his creation are, thus, precious. Freedom in artistic creation can also be considered a desire to be free in the artist's destiny. Many artists created poems, music or paintings in the context of social alienation when their country was under domination or even when they were in prison. Their artistic creations at that time were a subjective perspective beyond the challenging circumstance and an objective voice representing a community desiring to live in a fair and just society.

However, boundaries of artistic creativity should be set to a certain extent. Having the function of directing people to Truth - Compassion - Beauty, art must be born to educate people about good and right things. Therefore, governments need to set particular limits on artistic ideas so that they will not harm social thinking. Artists also had better be aware that creative freedom is not freely writing what you like, drawing whatever you want, or creating artwork not for anyone, any community or ethnicity. For example, it is unacceptable for a painting promoting war, a song distorting history or a movie inciting young people to participate in social evils to come out without governmental regulation.

In conclusion, on condition that creative artistic ideas expressed through artwork are lawful and do not disobey moral standards, they have the ultimate and complete freedom to be brought out to the public.