Creative artists should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music or film) in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of whether artists are allowed to freely voice their opinions through any piece of art or governments should put some curbs on their works of art has become controversial when it comes into discussion. I embrace the former idea and its reasons are explored below.

Firstly, freedom of opinion and expression is universally recognized as a fundamental civil right. Along with some others like the right to live and the right to learn, this right is, in fact, constitutionally stated and protected. Obviously, it is one of the manifestations of a democratic society and the result of the enduring efforts of human beings from the beginning of civilization through plenty of revolutions and violence, meaning many individuals did sacrifice their lives for the freedom of opinion and expression.

Secondly, the infringement from governments on artists’ freedom of speech is likely to cause two adverse impacts. One of them is that creativity will be deterred. It then results in the bounds of creativity, which makes artists fail to depict the multifaceted aspects of our life and to fulfill their roles. Another one is that government restrictions on art pieces can cause tension between authorities and artists; gradually, this may permeate society.

Last but not least, artists’ ideas conveyed in their pieces of art deliver constructive feedback to governments. Through their artwork, artists can evoke public attention to issues that they think they are essential to be aware of. Then governments can recognize what needs to be improved to meet public expectations. For instance, in recent years, many sarcastic pictures about corruption on Tuoi Tre Cuoi magazine has been succeeding to raise public consciousness and to call for Vietnam government to take action.

In conclusion, artists are constitutionally entitled to freely express their voice via any kinds of their artwork and this is an effective channel that governments can use to collect constructive criticism. Also, Legal sanctions do harm than good, thereby being unnecessary.