To what extent are people in your country interested in vegetarianism? Why?

People have been following different health practices and vegetarianism is scientifically proven as one of the most effective ways amid them. Vegetarian diets are actually familiar with many Vietnamese citizens, yet it is far from being their choice. Two underlying reasons will be pointed out in this essay.

To start with, a significant portion of the Vietnamese population have insufficient awareness of vegetarian meals, causing their rejection. Firstly, there exists a stereotype/ a fixed mindset that plant-based meals incline people to mineral and vitamin deficiencies, which, subsequently, result in fatigue, sleep disorders and even slow recovery from illnesses. As a result, only do a small number of people who fully conscious of the health benefits of vegetarianism embrace it. Secondly, it is widely believed that non-vegetarian recipes are an integral part of Vietnamese cuisine and culture. Hence, meat-based meals are misinterpreted as one of the national eating habits and vegetarianism should be of individual preference; otherwise, to some extent, the gradual erosion of traditions and cultural values will occur.

The second reason is that food safety concerns hinder Vietnamese people from being vegetarians. Food safety is, in fact, a thorny issue in Vietnam. Vegetables and fruits, two of the main sources of meat-free meals, are likely to be planted with uncontrolled use of fertilizers and pesticides, which is even sprayed a day before harvesting. Thus, the fear of the level of agricultural chemical residues not only does harm to consumers but also refrains them from adopting vegetarian diets. Furthermore, because it is time-consuming to prepare hearty vegetarian meals at home, eating out is sometimes an alternative; nevertheless, numerous people are skeptical of how vegetarian restaurants can ensure food processing safety and the level of this anxiety plummets each time there is any high profile food safety incident/ food safety scandal.

To conclude, vegetarians make up an insignificant amount of Vietnamese population since people are not fully aware of the beneficial impacts that vegetarianism brings on health as well as there are food safety fears among Vietnamese people.