As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbing. What factors contribute to job satisfation? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

There is no doubt that the number of working hours constitutes the majority of adults’ life; job satisfaction is, therefore, the factor most employees pay attention to. It is composed of several components, and this essay will elucidate two main ones, namely salary and enthusiasm before giving my opinion of whether everyone can all achieve career satisfaction.

It is evident that monetary rewards usually have a great influence on the individuals’ likelihood of choosing a job as well as on how much satisfied they gain after a period of working. Most job seekers consider that money is essential in terms of supporting their family and themselves; as a result, some are content with having a high salary job regardless of how much it intrigues them. This is also the reason why a vast number of Vietnamese students abandon their profession to venture on positions in trade and commerce that are normally well-paid. An equally important factor is ones’ interest in their job. Some job hunters only take a job that they enjoy because it is their passion and the only thing they would devote their life to. They value what they are doing and have a sense of satisfaction, thereby having no concern about anything else. Take jobs involving preserving works of art as an example. They seem to be dead-end jobs for many people, but to others, they deserve great dedication.

As the philosophy of job satisfaction can change over times, it is unlikely that all workers always have job satisfaction. Some soon quit their dream job because they suffer from under-utilization of talent while their boss believes they are assessed on merit. Furthermore, the competitive labor market today gives employees a limited amount of time to search for a satisfying job. Consequently, few can get a well-paid job that they have a passion for; meanwhile, others usually either select high wages or pursue the job they love with low earnings.

In brief, high wages and passion at work contribute to one’s job satisfaction. However, all workers can partially obtain job satisfaction since the demands of employers usually cannot meet the expectations of employees and the issues of labor surplus are growing. Finding solutions to these can create more job satisfaction for all employees.