Discuss the consequences of deforestation.

For decades, deforestation has never failed to attract public attention since it has been exerting numerous adverse impacts on environment. This essay will analyse two major repercussions that are probably the most severe.

To begin with, deforestation has been long perceived as being the chief culprit of both wildlife and human habitat destruction. Firstly, even though over-logging has been curbed in developed nations, many third-world governments neglect sustainable forest management. As a result, this malfunction pushes many species to the brink of extinction when their home, forests, is being narrowed down at an alarming rate. Furthermore, in order to maintain ecological equilibrium, a balanced food web is required, which means the adaptations of few animals to the shrinkage in forest area and habitat loss do not help and the vanishing of any species will eventually result in ripple effects on ecosystems. Secondly, extensive logging is the underlying cause of many disasters directly harmful to our life like flooding and desertification. These, in fact, bring out declines in soil fertility and subsequently in crop yields and are responsible for a substantial number of fatalities annually. It is also noticeable that a few ethnic minorities have been suffering from deforestation since in terms of economic and cultural aspects, they have barely exhibited a complete interdependence on forest resources.

The second consequence is that over-logging and the warming of the Earth are strongly correlated. First, it is a common fact that trees are efficient tools to reduce carbon dioxide emissions, one of the key factors triggering global warming; therefore, excessive cutting of them literally undermines all efforts many nations have put into carbon offsetting. In addition, deforestation in some cases is to accommodate industrial sector and residential growth. Thus, without a decent balance between logging and reforestation, the more our population grows, the more carbon footprint escalates.

To sum up, deforestation is not merely causing the reduction of tree canopy cover as it has insidious effects on the ecosystem and human life and bears a close relation to global warming.