Crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas.Why do you think that is?What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

Crime rates are increased in metropolitan areas as compare to rural areas. Owing to people with different characteristics, availability of facilities to escape are prime reasons. Major steps are needed to restrict criminal activities.

Nowadays, due to increased competition in world everyone is interested in their own life in mega cities. As compared to rural areas people are not aware of activities of neighbors. Consequently, monitoring of criminal activities cannot be done. To illustrate, in Karachi, a criminal group was arrested, involved in vandalizing of buildings and terrorist attack on church. Although they were living there for few months, nobody noticed their activities. On contrary, in rural areas vigilant monitoring of outsiders’ activities is done.

Furthermore, increasing poverty has profound effect on crime rates. unavailability of jobs for young generation has diverted them to fast and easy access to money by committing crime such as pick pocketing to master, plan of hacking bank accounts. As an illustration, recent study showed, lack of job and increased financial demand from family provoke them to commit crime.

following steps can be effective in overcoming crime rates. firstly, strict rules and regulations must be implemented by the government. Penalizing culprits SHOULD BE THE immediate step to discourage others to commit crimes, in addition, monitoring by cameras could be planned. Secondly, the government must provide golden opportunities to earn or if, they are homeless financial aid must be sponsored.

To conclude, IN MY OPINION, PERILOUS OUTCOME OF INCREASING CRIME RATES must be taken into consideration. The government approach to decrease crime rates by strict monitoring and law is necessary.