Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road cause some problems. What are the problems? What are the solutions?

The simultaneous circulation of cars and bikes on the same lane has raised some issues. Although these problems may affect the road traffic flow, relevant steps exist to extricate the situation.

The vehicles’ operation of riders and drivers on a similar route has affected traffic flow in several ways. Lane encroachment is the first and foremost concern, usually during peak hours. In Vietnam, it is common to witness cyclists jostling through the line of cars in waiting for the traffic light to get the front positions to start faster after the red light. This is because some people are rushed to work, school or home. However, there are also nonsensical cases in which cyclists encroach on other traffic lanes, such as the case of Vietnamese bikers. They enjoy gathering and riding together to exercise on traffic roads. Instead of finding another place to practice the hobby, they often travel on the streets, although this is illegal in Vietnam, leading to a bigger problem: traffic accidents. These happen regularly and unpredictably. If one traffic operator suddenly changes direction and passes the lane unknowingly, the other operators may be unable to control their vehicles to stop promptly, resulting in unfortunate incidents.

Nevertheless, there is always at least one solution to solve the problem, and education should be considered. Raising people's awareness when participating in traffic is necessary. This can be done through schools, the press or social media, which are powerful tools to catch citizens' attention. Besides, cameras powered by AI that can detect violations from citizens should be employed, or more traffic organizers from the government should be sent to coordinate the traffic.

Major problems appear when drivers and bikers split up the road, but improvement in people’s awareness, violation detection tools or police officer force can be good solutions.