Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road might cause some problems. What are the problems? What could be done to solve the problems?

These days, it is common to see bicycles and cars using the same road in many countries all over the world, especially developing countries. This leads to some issues which have detrimental impacts on demand for mobility. This essay will give some feasible measures to ameliorate these problems.

It is undeniable that sharing the same road between cyclists and car drivers may result in severe problems. The possibly of accidents between a car and a bicycle is much higher than traveling in separated lanes due to size and speed. Bicycles are smaller than cars, so it is difficult for cars to see them every time, especially when car drivers run with high speed. For example, many accidents in Vietnam are caused by car drivers and cyclists participating in similar road. In addition, the proliferation of cars and bicycles is more likely to lead to traffic congestion, especially rush hours. For instance, a car has to slow down when a commuter rides a bike with the average speed in front of it. As a result, some behind cars also slow down or even stop to wait, so this can cause traffic jams.

In order to mitigate the aforementioned problems, some solutions should be employed. First, public education needs to ensure that car drivers possibly consider to cyclists as well as learning how to drive safely when bicycles are sharing the same road. For example, car drivers should reduce their speed and be aware of surrounding when travelling on the road used for both cars and bicycles. Furthermore, the government also should invest to build distinct lanes for these two vehicles. Consequently, each vehicle can run with its own speed and does not affect others. An example can be seen as more and more European countries like Netherlands start to build separate lands for bicycles.

In conclusion, cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road might cause serious accidents and traffic congestion. To ease these problem, car drivers should learn how to drive safely when travelling the same road with bicycles and the government needs to consider constructing distinct lanes.