Despite the increased access to education, a significant number of people cannot read or write. What are the disadvantages and what action should the government take?

Thanks to the support of governments, organizations, and the whole society, in recent years, education has been becoming more and more accessible. However, it is reported that a large number of people are still illiterate. This problem has many drawbacks, and measures must be taken to address the illiteracy issue.

There are a variety of bad consequences resulting from illiteracy. First and foremost, as illiterate people are unable to read and write, they obviously cannot get a degree to find a job. Therefore, the number of working adults will be decreased, which leads to the stagnancy of the nation's economy. Another disadvantage to consider is that illiterate people often have to do harsh labor jobs but earn very little money which is not enough to pay for daily expenses. Thus, they must find a second job and can be easily led into the criminal path. A country cannot thrive sustainably with a high rate of illiteracy because it will result in the issues mentioned above.

To increase the literacy rate, drastic actions must be taken. Local authorities have the responsibility to create jobs for the illiterate ones with reasonable wages as a lot of people who cannot read or write are very skillful workers. In the long run, this can help to boost the nation's economy. Besides, the government should open classes for illiterate people. In the past, leaders of some countries even taught those classes themselves. For instance, the great founder of Vietnam-Ho Chi Minh; had taught many Vietnamese to read and write on his own.

In summary, illiteracy brings to us many bad things so authorities need to make measures to tackle this thorny problem.