Development in technology causes environmental problems. Some people believe the solution in these problems is everyone accepts a simpler way of life, while others say that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that the prevalence of technology leads to devastating consequences for the environment. While some individuals claim that a simpler lifestyle can solve these issues, I have a conviction that people still can utilize technology to address such problems.

On the one hand, in order to tackle the destructively environmental effects caused by technology advancements, human beings should accept a simpler lifestyle. Nowadays, by the advent of cars that consume fossil fuel, the commutation of humans becomes more convenient; however, such private transport emits a substantial amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, which has proven to be the main culprit of global warming and ozone depletion. Therefore, in order to alleviate environmental degradation, people should change their lifestyle into a simpler one by using environmentally friendly transportation such as a bicycle. Not only does it preserve the environment intact, but it can also be used as a way of exercise to strengthen people’s health condition.

On the other hand, I side with those who believe that the utilization of technology can still resolve environmental problems. A more favourable solution is to invest in greener technologies that can mitigate much of the environmental deterioration already done. Scientists have already started working on them and constituted several considerable accomplishments. For example, it is the invention of electric trains. They induce much less air pollution than diesel engines. The usage of cars running on electricity instead of fossil fuel is another auspicious technology that can tackle environmental degradation. Likewise, greener energy sources like wind and solar may soon replace conventional energy sources like coal.

In conclusion, I would argue that it is unnecessary for human beings to change their lifestyle into a simpler one, as they can make use of technological advancements to tackle environmental issues.