Today there is a great increase in anti-social behaviour and lack of respect for others. What are the cause of this? What measure can be taken to solve the problem?

It is true that anti-social behaviour and disrespect to others is cause for alarm. Although there are some causes of this trend, society can take steps to mitigate these potential problems.

There are some reasons why individuals are inclined to conduct anti-socially and express a dearth of esteem for other people. The bottom line is the misapprehension of a strong personality. I imagine that misbehaviours, such as swearing or smoking, are the norm, especially among the youth, because they opine that only by doing that can they express their individuality and have an influence on other people. Moreover, the lack of parental guidance and moral education from teachers also contribute to this trend. Nowadays, parents in dual-income families have a tendency to be engaged with work and pay little attention to their offspring’s conduct. Meanwhile, teachers only focus on their students’ scholastic performance and neglect delivering ethical lessons about the good code of conduct and respect to others.

There are some actions that society could take to tackle the problems described above. Firstly, social organizations should launch educational campaigns to raise community awareness of social manners. Documentary films referring to a misconception about strong personality, for example, can help people differentiate it completely. In addition, the administration can also impose more stringent laws on those who have insolent manners. For instance, as to children, parents whose kids misbehave should incur a financial penalty owing to their lack of care with their offspring.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that there is a soaring increase in anti-social conducts and less esteem to others.