The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Due to tourism expansion, English has become the most in use language around the world. A proportion of people assume that this will turn English into the unique international language in communication. Although, it has advantages, there are still lots of disadvantages. This essay will discuss both the parts. On the constructive part, having one universal language would enable greater understanding among countries. In other words, if everyone spoke one language, there would be flawless comprehension in numerous procedures. For instance, it would promote acquiring knowledge and information exchange. Furthermore, it will solve the main difficulty of scholars who want to take up their education in other nations. Therefore, with the help of common language, social interactions will be more effortless. On the destructive part, it has some drawbacks such as disappearance of other languages. As a result of this, not only vernacular will be abolished but also multiple cultures will be lost. Eradication of cultures which are inseparable component of each society will put an end to the real and valid recognition of domains. To illustrate, research in Portugal expresses that a wide range of people speak only English and are not able to socialize by their mother tongue. Consequently, after a few generations, the English lifestyle was applied on the Portuguese community.

To conclude, despite the fact that having a single language will obviously allow trouble-free social intercourse, it will terminate the local speech and various cultures that should be preserved.