The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to spoken globally. What are the advantage and disadvantaged to having one language in the world?

It is thought by some people who English, which is now the most widely spoken language in the world, may one day predominate over all other languages and result in their disappearance. Having one language would be beneficial for the understanding between other countries as well as in the economic growth but it will also have some drawbacks.

According to the first school of thoughts, there are some advantages of speaking one language. Firstly, learning only the English as beneficial for the people as this language is accepted by all other nations because this language is important in any area of domain. So, having one language will be helpful in improving the understanding between not only many countries but all people throughout the world which would promote the learning, the flow of information and ideas. Secondly, speaking only the one language would enhance the economic growth. With all people speaking the same language there will be less barriers and therefore trade would flourish between nations, resulting in healthier world economy.

Moving towards the drawbacks of having one language. The prime one is that, when the people have same language so it gets the result of disappearing of other languages and people would loss their culture and diversity of the nation as with the different cultures of the different countries gives the unique identity to the most of the nation so as a one language in all the countries result in their lost. Further, it would result in the collapse of tourism because when all the countries have same languages and cultures so tourist would not attract towards the other countries and it would give the result of reducing the popularity of tourism as most countries depends on tourism economy so it would affect the economic growth as well.

To conclude, after a many thoughts and deliberation it is true to say, that speaking only one language have most of the positive views but also it would have some negative impacts . So people should learn English as it is an international language but they should not forget the significance of their own language.