Directors and managers of organisations are often older people. Some people say that it is better for younger people to be leaders.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past years, there has been an exponential rise in the number of younger leaders in many establishments. An increasing number of experts have claimed that older people as leaders might not be capable enough to compete with their counterparts. This essay agrees partially with the above notion and the points will be discussed in the upcoming paragraph.

Younger leaders are much more up to date in terms of technology and in touch with the modern world through the usage of the internet. Moreover, they are considerably more open to learning new skills than their complements. Secondly, due to their young age, they are ready to work round the clock, which inspires and encourages others to become workaholics, which means higher productivity level during the day leading to overall better performance. All this might allow them to make wiser decisions and bring success to the organization they work for.

On the other hand, old leaders have a lot of real-life experience and deep knowledge regarding their respective jobs, all this make their strategic perspective stronger. Last but not the least, older people are often respected by others. Thus, they can raise their voice on issues and mostly everyone could listen to them.

To recapitulate, considering the aforementioned points, while I accept the fact that we had leaders as older people for decades, but we should not consider only a single factor while hiring for senior positions.