why do people prefer supermarkets over local shops?

Over the past few decades, there has been an unprecedented rise in the number of supermarkets. An increasing number of people have claimed that local businesses might not be capable enough to compete with these giants in their backyards. In my opinion, although the increase in the number of supermarkets may affect the local marketplace to some extent, nonetheless it will not endanger the existence of their counterparts.

Since the advent of shopping malls, they have provided solace to each of us. First and foremost, mostly everything starting from kitchen appliances to groceries and cosmetics is available in one place. Thus, there is no need to travel from one shop to the other. Secondly, they promote their products through the medium of advertisements and offering ample amounts of discount on various products available. Thirdly, nearly all malls provide numerous luxuries such as parking areas, self-checkout counter, free home delivery, and many more. Last but not the least, they boom the employment opportunities by anticipating various options ranging from cashiers to their managers.

On the other hand, in the early 19th century, each one of us used to socialize while shopping the essential items. These days a lot of communication gap is there between the seller and consumer. Nevertheless, we have countless ways to socialize via clubs, schools, social events, and through other institutions in society.

To recapitulate, considering the aforementioned points, though the surge in the number of supermarkets has affected the local communities, the effects are not detrimental for their fellow companion.