Increasing petrol price is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems

Air pollution and traffic congestion are the two major concerns all around the world, and there is no palpable solution for the same. Some experts often argue that a surge in petrol prices may solve both of these problems. Nonetheless, this is only a short-term plan because there are no vital options available to run vehicles, also authorities should take some tangible solutions such as improving public transport.

On one hand, many essential commodities such as food and clothing are also dependent on gasoline, as all of them require heavy machinery which mostly operates via petrol and also it requires transportation from the manufacturer to the consumer site. Thus, a surge in gasoline prices would highly affect commodity prices. Moreover, it would be hard for families to enjoy their leisure time.

First and foremost, the local governments should decide on something long term. For instance, public transport should be accessible for everyone, and they should invest more in improving it such as making an underground transportation system and electric metros. Secondly, scientists should spend more time investing in renewable resources such as nuclear, wind, and solar power. Furthermore, it could decrease the buses and train fare, so eventually, everyone would be able to afford it. Thirdly, the administration can restrict the number of vehicles per family, it could drastically reduce traffic congestion. Last but not the least, the metropolitan city of Delhi has made an odd-even rule in this private vehicle number ending with an odd digit can travel only on odd days a month and number ending with even on even days.

To conclude, considering the aforementioned points, the solution of increasing the pricing in gasoline fall behind other everlasting solutions. The authorities should focus more on refining public transport and finding out a tangible solutions for other renewable resources.