Directors of large companies often receive much bigger salary increases than ordinary workers. Employers' organizations say that in a global market this is necessary to attract the best management talent. What are your views

With globalization, transnational companies have emerged. These corporations require effective management to stir them and such a team does not come at a cheap cost. In my opinion, a progressive industry demands well-qualified and paid management staff.

Firstly, it is my view that when directors are well compensated, they feel appreciated and this motivates them. Also, managerial roles are tough and demanding, they need well-qualified personnel, who are competent at their work. However, such individuals are not easy to come by and there is stiff competition among global enterprises to land their hands on them. The only way to keep highly educated, skilled, and experienced executives is to give them attractive packages. For example, managing a global brand such as Coca-Cola is no easy task, there is extensive landscaping being done by the executive team behind the production and marketing of the beverages. The responsibility falls upon the directors to ensure the business remains afloat and the common laborer gets to have a payday.

Furthermore, when organizations are in good hands and run smoothly they are profitable and the ordinary worker can get a salary cushion. When the leadership is happy, the regular employee is also happy. Hefty packages make the bosses obliged to oil the production machine, their role in laying down the framework Is much more difficult. Not to downplay the laborious effort done on the factory floors, as the proverb goes, the laborer deserves his dues. However, it must be noted these wages differ according to rank.

In conclusion, I believe that awarding managerial crew higher salary increments is a sound strategy for business in a global market.