Discuss some of the arguements for and against the maintenance of the zoos?

Zoos have existed for centuries and remain places where people come to learn about animals life. However, the maintenance of zoos is still a problem for arguments. Personally, I do think both view is reasonable as each has its own merits.

First and foremost, it seems like keeping animals in zoos can save them from extinction and other dangers. For example, zoos are working to save polar bears and tigers from habitat loss, apes and rhinos from poachers, dolphins and whales from hunters, bees and butterflies from population declines, among many other efforts to help other animals. What's more, zoos increase knowledge of animals and conservation efforts. Visitors not only can get chance to see remarkable animals up close but also can learn more about specific individual actions to protect biodiversity. Furthermore, zoos produce helpful scientific research. By study about their behaviour, diet, breeding and genetic, people are more conscious of animals, especially of endangered species.

However, zoo confinement is likely to be a psychologically damaging to animals. Being kept in a tiny cage with poor facilities, lack of freedom, suffer from loneliness, all of that make change in animals behaviours. Especially, it can cause depression in animals, which lead to such actions as eating feces, twitching, rocking back and forth, plucking hair, pacing, vomiting, and self-mutilation, among others. Besides that, animals' physical health may be adversely affected. Animals confined are likely to have shorter life expectancy and less breeding process. Meanwhile, most zoos are treated as recreational facilities. For that reason, some visitors do not always have respect the rules of zoos, or the boundaries that keep them safe from potentially dangerous animals.

As we can see from the previous discussion, zoos are a rather controversial topic. While there are many advantages to zoos, there are also many problems related to those facilities. In my opinion, keeping animals in zoos can be justifiable as long as animals are kept under rather natural conditions and are not caged in pretty confined spaces.