Do the advantages of having closed circuit television outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, it is fact that CCTV has become one of the most important tools for living security in which more and more housing estates install the high-tech device with a view to protecting the citizens life. Despite some obvious disadvantages of CCTV, I would agree that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, it is clear that CCTV would bring about several negative aspects. One compelling evidence is that it would pay an exorbitant installation cost. For example, some families, who are in the lower brackets of income can not pay for this video cameras. In other words, the citizens will deal with the instruction of privacy. Although they will be comfortable in the beginning time, they will feel hesitant to enjoy their daily life because each activity will be recorded by monitoring systems. Last but not least, the high-tech security network is likely to be exposed to cyber crime; for instance, some hackers will misuse footage or data that have contained in CCTV for various dangerous purposes.

On the other hand, I argue that there are more positive aspects of CCTV. First, they facilitate the effective security for people. Because every time the crimes like hand pockets, robbers, etc want to jog on some bad behaviors and they see the high-tech security, they will feel discouraged and deny their action. Second, these devices can help us to reduce the number of security staffs; therefore, we can save a wide range of expenditure and we will use it for another purposes like investment more national article or renew the infrastructure. Finally, the records from video cameras are one of the most useful evidences to boost crimes into the prison.

In conclusion, there are downsides to install CCTV. However, it seems to me that the merits would be more important regarding the efficient security, the decrease of security staffs expenses and the most useful evidences to incriminate the crimes.