Do you agree ir disagree that using animals to test safety of cosmetic or drugs used for medical reason is never acceptable?

In this era of new innovations and modern ways of living, development of studies on various matters becomes inperative in many ways. Animals are always involved for such experimental research to conduct initial testing of different products prior to human trials for safety reasons. It is a debatable topic for animals prospect though as one of the medical professionals, I believe that human’s welfare is the most priority.

Drugs are essential for treatment of many diseases. These are made constructively and examined carefully with scientific knowledge and analytical thinking of experts. It aims to promote health and life through diagnosis and proper medication. Take rifampicin drug for example which is given to patients with tuberculosis - one of the communicable diseases. If this disease will not ne treated, it will be a prevalent health problem in a society.

In other cases, there are studies that have been conducted also for cosmetic purposes since looks is already an important aspect nowadays to some public’s point of view. More so, to avoid unwanted results each product undergoes different phases of testing that includes animals which are known to have an almost similar biological system from human’s. For instance, the administration of glutathione intravenously is tested first mostly in rabbits. It would take a great time to observe and study its effects in rabbit’s system. Good findings would mean it is safe and effective; otherwise, this study would be rejected.

To conclude, these motives for using animals in research testing are percieved acceptable and considerable by health disciplines for human’s welfare. This process will surely continue for over the next years as the society’s demands and needs increase undoubtedly in my opinion.