Do you agree or disagree that improvements in technology reduce the role of Olympic Games?

In recent years, the industrial revolution 4.0 has been changing our lives rapidly and thanks to the development of the high tech, our daily lives has become more and more convenient. Many products of 4.0 revolution is applied as an assistant in sporty events, especially in Olympic Games. Some people assume that this improvement in technology reduce the role of Olympic Games but I personally disagree with this statement.

In my point of view, technology just help the game to become fairer and more accurate in competitions. First, thanks to the development of technology, we can know who cross the finish line first or the specific time of athletes’ performance in some difficult cases like there are two competitors cross the line simultaneously in swimming or sprint races. Second, you can use technology to measure the result when competitors finish their performances in long jump, javelin throwing, shot putter, etc. That makes results more accurate as well as precise and the winner is more deserved with his or her performance. Thirdly, thanks to the high-tech testing machine, judges are able to know competitors who used doping to boost their strength in the contest. Last but not least, I would like to mention that FIFA decided to use the VAR (Video Assistant Video) system in World Cup which was hosted by Russia in 2018. This technology was very useful in every match and because of this system, many problems were solved clearly such as France defeated Australia thanks to VAR, Peru gained the penalty kick after using this technology, Korean football team lost Sweden thanks to this high-tech, etc. Besides, the technology also makes the games less interesting and more boring. The reason is when this kind of technology is used, there are either no more argument between contestants or the result is depended on the referee’s judge.

In a nut shell, the improvements in technology is not reduce the role of the sporty event, especially Olympics Games. It has become a useful assistant for the referee in the games and bring the fair play to every match.