Do you think that technological advancement has brought more harm than good?

There has been unprecedented technological progress in 21st century, and it has been questioned whether or not such development would have positive effects. I believe that this trend could have both beneficial and detrimental consequences.

Highly advanced science and engineering have increasingly improved personal and broad societal standards. From a personal perspective, sophisticated civilisation, thanks to technological development, has certainly increased the quality of life for many people. For example, transportation has become more efficient and faster in a way that anyone can travel anywhere in the world in a day, and this makes individuals can access different nations quicker than ever. In this way, travelling around the world or meeting family or friends who live far away is no longer a worrying problem. On a social level, an explosion in the use of automation has boosted many factories and plants’ productivities, which leads to greater prosperity of a nation.

Nevertheless, such development has also produced disturbing concerns as to the arguments given above. First and foremost, progressed communication through devices results in a lack of face-to-face interactions. For instance, many young adults are more likely to prefer contacts with their families or relatives via emails, texts, and even updates on social media. this could be attributed to reducing physical interactions between individuals. From the economic point of view, it is often argued that the automation of productions and services adversely decrease the rate of unemployment, as businesses no longer require workers to produce their products or provide certain services.

In conclusion, it seems to me that developments of technology as a positive role to act for humanity is debatable because such trend has both pros and cons.