Environmental damage is a problem in most countries. What factors damage the environment and who should take responsibility?

Environmental pollution is not a new phenomenon, but it remains the world’s greatest problem facing humanity. This essay will first suggest that the biggest problems caused by this phenomenon are the usage of plastic products and vehicles, and then argue that both governments and individuals would have the responsibitilies in protecting the environmnet.

In commerce, one of the main causes of pollution is plastic. In other words, almost all plastics are made from chemicals that come from the production of planet-warming fuels, including gas, oil, and even coal. Furthermore, because plastic can stick around in the environment for ages and spread toxins, it can easily cause soil and water pollution. Vehicles are also another factor due to the fact that the emissions from private cars can produce tons of carbon dioxide, which leads to global warming as well as air pollution.

In order to tackle these aforementioned problems, both governments and individuals should take some effective approaches. Firstly, authorities can encourage the public to use more public transport by improving their services, which will result in a reduction of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere. Secondly, to reduce the amount of plastic bottles in the environment, Norway, for example are using loan scheme, which means when a consumer buys a plastic bottle, they are charged a small additional fee equivalent. However, his fee can then be redeemed when they take it to a machine that returns the money after scanning the barcode of the deposited bottle. This scheme has allowed Norway to recycle 97 percent of all its plastic bottles. While the impacts might be smaller in comparison to the aforementioned remedies, each individual can help to ameliorate the situation by recycling plastic bottles or planting more trees around neighborhoods.

In conclusion, while plastic and the emissons from vehicles are contributing in contaminate the environment, governments and individuals can solve these problems by recycling and using public transport.