Environmental problems are too big for individual countries and individual person to address. In other words, we have reached the stage where the only way to protect the environment is at an international level. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While there has long been a heated debate over the matter of preventing climate change which some argue that can only be tackled at an international scale, I would totally oppose that assumption. In the contrary, I firmly contend that this colossal issue can only be quickly prevented if individuals and governments are involved in, and also having a factor of international scale.

Apparently, there has been a pivotal movement enacted by the Paris government in 2015. The ‘COP21’ policy that aiming at getting nations around the world to join in so as to reduce the rising of global average temperature down to the standard level. And many nations now recognizing the far-reaching challenges that humankind have to deal with, thus they are almost willing to lend support to this movement.

The had been certain steps taken by developed countries in order to help the environment. For example, federal governments in Canada encouraged the citizens to use LED bulbs which consume up to 80 per cent less energy and cheaper than conventional bulbs. In addition to that, they initiated a huge project which promotes gas-smart cars such as hybrids and fully electric vehicles to be more affordable to the citizens. There are also heavy taxes that implemented to focus on those company that burning coal and fuel. And some similar movements also took place in the US.

Even though the international and national scale steps are imperative. It is intangible that personal action combined with governmental action can advance further in the matter of preventing climate change. Presumably, if every single person stopped using too much energy and wasting water, disposed of their trash properly, started recycling more, then it could do wonders for the entire planet. Therefore, an individual’s responsibility is crucial in helping to curb environmental issues.

In conclusion, given the reasons mentioned above, the role of individual citizens should not be neglected. Nonetheless, in general, in order to address this problem successfully, individual citizens and government at national and international scale must have to play their parts in this matter.