There are more advertisements aimed at children. Some people believe that they have negative effects on children and should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

These days children are bombarded with countless of commercial ads given the rise of technology. While many people believe that advertising targeting children should be prohibited since it exerts negative effects on them, I completely oppose with that point of view.

On the one hand, advertisements have detrimental effects on children’s future development and wellbeing. Many fast-food companies blatantly manipulate advertising strategies to entice children to buy their products, since children might have not yet developed concepts of healthy-eating habits and cannot differentiate between unharmful or harmful advertisements. As soon as kids catch fast-food products on commercials, they will pester their families to buy such unhealthy products to please their desires. Processed food has long been known as lack of nutrients and containing much fat, which might cause obesity among children. If they consumed such unhealthy product regularly, it would take a toll on children’s later development and their physical health.

On the other hand, had advertising aimed at children been banned, it would have badly affected an entire economy since advertisement plays a key role in promoting the development of a country. Many companies will suffer from a decrease in sales and profits, which would eventually lead to a rise in unemployment rates and the economy. For instance, KFC enterprise creates millions of job opportunities in advertising throughout the globe. If bans were to be placed upon commercials, a myriad of workers such as marketers may become jobless, and as a result, governments have to use financial resources to support those unemployed people

In conclusion, though advertising targeting children may have some negative influences on children's development and wellbeing, it seems to be implausible to ban advertisement in overall.