Environmental protection should be the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been claimed that the responsibility towards environmental conservation should be shouldered by the government, instead of individuals. However, the government’s decisions, frankly, including enacting laws or creating solutions for ecosystem preservation, depends on the acceptance of the community. From a personal perspective, both of them should have bilateral action to lower the environmental issues.

The aspect to consider regarding the reason why the government should take the responsibility for concerns the power of their influence over the country. It can be observed that most environmental issues relate to water, land, forest or natural resources, which is under the government management. On that basis, the government plays a crucial part in enacting new laws or principles to preserve them. Specifically, were any individual organization to wish to launch an activity as for environmental saving, they would ask the government for their approval. Another aspect that can not be overlooked is that pollution research is mostly determined by the government via experiments in the lab or in reality. The sooner the issues are identified, the quicker action the government can take to preserve the ecosystem.

In another aspect, it is indeed obvious that although the government passes laws, whether the community can seriously comply with them or not. It is important to take into account that people are the main reason for environmental problems due to their lack of awareness such as throwing trash into water or causing forest fires. Therefore, it is humanity who should raise their knowledge about preserving the environment . Besides, there are over seven billion individuals in conjunction with over two hundred governments around the world, so they can take intensive actions, which are out of the government's ability, such as Earth Hours or Saving Turtles projects. Once this happens, individuals will give a big hand in recovering the ecosystem on our planet.

In conclusion, from my perspective, not only the government but also individuals need to unite in order to conserve and recover the ecosystem. Once our environment turns into fresher and greener, human’s quality of life will enhance in physical and mental aspects.