Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that there are becoming less living languages every year. The number of people see many advantages to this state of affairs. I can consider myself as one of these people, since I fundamentally agree that it is a positive change rather than a negative one.

First of all, there is no doubt that different languages spoken often cause misunderstanding and even conflicts between people of various nationalities. Such unpleasant situations are experienced not only in private relations but also in business, industries and politics, which may lead to crucial consequences. Speaking several common languages would reduce the scale and spread of problems described above. It definitely would connect people from different parts of the world, make business deals easier and more available. In addition, fewer spoken languages would result in the growth of possibilities to share experience and opinion for specialists from a range of essential industries, for instance, medicine, education and science.

In addition, despite the fact that nowadays people have a great amount of opportunities to move (or travel) from one country to another, the need to study a new language is still a noticeable problem and a barrier. Several living languages would make processes of visiting foreign countries or changing country of living: there would be less difficulties with finding job, entering school or university, dealing with commodity concerns and so on.

To sum up, to my mind, the existence of a few languages on our planet would open new facilities of traveling, communicating with other nations and exchanging experience. Moreover, it would benefit both individuals and thw whole industries and countries.